Honey and Ginger Loaf

I shouldn’t be writing this! We’ve had a really busy day sorting things out in the garden leaving me aching all over and reaching for the ibuprofen. I settled down to some reading before making tea, and saw this lovely-looking tweet:

@DanLepard: Looks delicious too: “@Anna_C_Hicks: Ginger honey cake just out of the oven. Smells so delicious http://t.co/3WRuH8fTm9”

“Hmm!” I thought. “I’ve got that interestingly-squidgy Goth-purple silicone loaf tin which I’ve not yet used. I’ve got butter and flour and some very nice honey, ‘grown’ locally at the OU (yes, the OU keeps* bees!) and I’m sure I’ve got some ground ginger… and I’ve got an hour before I need to cook – OK! Let’s give this a go.”

IMG_1816

Of course, when I looked at the recipe I found that I actually didn’t quite have everything I needed… there wasn’t anywhere near enough honey – but there was a jar of ginger preserve next to it. I didn’t have any fresh ginger – but there’s a jar of that very lazy stuff, that might do, I’m running a touch low on baking powder but there’s some bicarb and some extra flour… I’ve got some extra spices to make up for only having 3 tsps of ginger rather than 4… it won’t be the same but what could possibly go wrong?

Here’s my modified version of the recipe…

Ingredients

  • 150g honey
  • 250g ginger preserve
  • 75g unsalted butter, melted
  • 50ml sunflower oil
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 100g very lazy ginger from a jar
  • 70g sprinkling ginger, see last recipe
  • 100g currants
  • 3 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp all-spice
  • 255g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • Extra butter and honey, for finishing

Method

  1. Peer at a silicone loaf tin and wonder if it needs to be lined… decide you can probably get away with it. Preheat the oven to 170C/150C fan/335F/gas mark 3. Put the honey in a bowl, add melted butter, preserve, oil and eggs, then beat until smooth.
  2. Stir in the very lazy ginger, grated ginger and spices, add the flour and baking powder, stir in the currants, stir well until everything is evenly mixed, then spoon into the tin.
  3.  Take small slivers of butter and lay them centrally along the length of the mixture. This will force the cake to crack along the butter line.
  4. Bake for about 70-80 minutes undisturbed, as the cake is slightly fragile and prone to collapsing until the mixture sets. Use a skewer to check that the centre is baked. It will burn on top slightly, or at least go very dark. This is due to all that honey, and for me, it’s part of the cake’s charm.
  5. Leave to cool in the tin. While the cake is warm, brush the top with extra honey to soften the crust.
  6. Once cold, wrap the cake well and it should keep for several days. It’s great as an afternoon treat, or warmed and served with creme fraiche as a simple dessert.

The method for making the loaf split along the intriguigly-named ‘butter line’ sounded quite fascinating! Here’s the un-baked version:

IMG_1817 IMG_1819

And here’s how it looked, an hour later:

IMG_1830

Think I might just have to go and tweet that! ;)

photo

* Kept? I’ve not seen the honey for sale for a while now. Hmm…

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Honey and Ginger Loaf

  1. Lisa says:

    This looks amazing. And yes, I am working my way through your blog, right from the start…

    • *beam* Thank you! And lovely that you’re reading – you were one of my inspirations for starting up a cooking blog in the first place so I’d be delighted to know what you think.

      • Lisa says:

        I shall be making this tonight – and also having to tweak! No ginger preserves, but I do have orange and ginger marmalade. Not enough honey, but I have a mix of honey and agave syrup…la la la!

        And thank you. That’s so lovely to know!

Leave a Reply

