Pear and Ginger Crumble Slices

IMG_1769

A beautiful double rainbow against a slate sky

This was a frantic, post-work Thursday bake – The Roleplayers meet every Friday and I knew that this particular delight takes a good hour in the oven so there wouldn’t be time after work on Friday.

IMG_1768

A curl of baking parchment in late-afternoon sunshine

I was putting things away after the last procrastinate and found that I had somehow managed to acquire three different packets of muscovado sugar – a couple of boxes, a battered-looking bag. All partially used *frown* which is a clear sign of failure to check the cupboard before doing one’s online shop. So, I set myself a challenge to use at least one of them up and headed over to the Good Food website to use its ingredient search/meal type filter. 62 different recipes to choose from. Cor.

I consulted with Jef and we were both keen on the pear and ginger muffins but as I’d done muffins last week and was out of cases, I decided to play around with a different recipe and hopefully achieve something lovely: some crumbly, sweet and spicy, nutty and squidgy slices. It’s based on this recipe, but I made some changes, of course.

IMG_1765

All ready for filling

Ingredients

  • 250g chilled unsalted butter, chopped
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 125g ground almonds
  • 4 tsp ground ginger
  • 125g light muscovado sugar
  • 400g tub of pears in juice
  • 85g caster sugar, plus extra
  • 2 tsp ground ginger (yep, more!)
  • 50g flaked almonds
  • Sprinkling ginger

Method

  1. Heat oven to 190C/170C fan/gas 5.
  2. Line a 22 x 22cm baking tin with baking parchment.
  3. Rub the butter into the flour, ground almonds, ginger and sugar to make crumbs, then firmly press two-thirds onto the base and sides of the tin. Slice the pears into large chunks and scatter over the base.
  4. Mix the flaked almonds into the remaining crumbs, then scatter over the gooseberries.
  5. Bake for 30-45 mins  until golden. Dredge with caster sugar and sprinkling ginger, then cool in the tin.
  6. Cut into 12 squares – the ones I made are VERY VERY crumbly – to the point where if I hadn’t promised to use them as with-a-cuppa-slices I’d suggest they ended up in a bowl with custard instead. Be warned!
IMG_1798

Baked and sprinkled

IMG_1803

A tin full of treats

IMG_1802

I wasn’t kidding about the crumbliness! 

Thursday – baking day – is becoming my favourite one of the week – I know it’s silly, but I look forward to it all day.  I hope the recipients of my procrastination efforts enjoy their role in the proceedings as much as I enjoy myself!

IMG_1797

Cherry tree just about to blossom – a hopeful sign of spring!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pear and Ginger Crumble Slices

  1. Pingback: After Eight Mint Brownies | Procrastination Recipes

Leave a Reply

