After Eight Mint Brownies

Hello, sunshine!

Hello, sunshine!

I’m a little bit addicted to the Domestic Sluttery blog, even if I do have to warn people that it’s actually not as dodgy as it sounds when I send them any links to its pages. I’m not sure how I found it now – it may have been via @mmeguillotine on Twitter, possibly? Anyway, I’ve been reading it for about a year and it’s always exciting to see new articles appear. I even read the items about clothes and shoes which is a hoot as I’m probably the least fashionable person you could meet. But my favourite are the recipes and we might even have a spooky psychic link going on: I posted this just a few hours before this appeared. Hmm!

A pile of empties

A pile of empties

My recipe requirements today are for something chocolatey, something that’s not going to complain about waiting around for a couple of days until The Roleplayers get at it, and I have a hankering to make brownies but I’ve done ordinary chocolate brownies before. DS came up with the goods! The ingredients and method are pretty much just a copy and paste from the DS version to be honest, with small tweaks where I’ve done things a bit differently.

Are you tired of the ingredient line-up?

Are you tired of the ingredient line-up?

After Eight Mint Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 170g butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 120g light brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 70g cocoa powder, sifted
  • 40g mint hot chocolate, found in a panic when you realised you didn’t have enough cocoa, sifted!
  • 50g plain flour, sifted
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 24 After Eight mints

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 150C/300F/gas mark 2. Line and grease a small baking tin: I like the Hugh F-W tip of overlapping baking paper to help remove the brownies when they’re cold.
  2. Microwave the butter to melt it, set aside to cool.
  3. Mix the sugars and eggs together, beating until the mixture is thick and glossy. (I used a hand-whisk for this but electric would have been easier.)
  4. Add the vanilla and butter and beat until smooth.
  5. Fold in the flour, cocoa powder and salt. Be careful not to overmix – this will make for a dense brownie.

    IMG_1919

    The tiling continued…

  6. Spoon half your mixture into the pan, making sure it spreads into the corners.
  7. Lay your after eight mints on top of the mixture in neat rows. I made mine a solid tile – I’m not sure this is what the Sluttery recipe intended. Ah well!
  8. Add the rest of the mixture on top, spreading it so the mints are totally covered.
  9. Pop in the oven for about 25-30 minutes until the top is crackling when they’re ready to take out of the oven – push a knife/skewer in to see it it comes out almost clean, but make sure you do this a couple of times – otherwise you might be going straight through a bit of gooey after dinner mint.
  10. Leave to go completely cold before cutting.
  11. I had a bit of an issue with peeling off the baking paper from the bottom of these – the sugar in the After Eights made them *very* sticky 😦 If I was going to make them again, I’d use silicone paper instead, I think.
Sticky, minty, gooey.

Sticky, minty, gooey.

I’m now wondering about putting other types of popular chocolate bars to good use in baking… Crunchie cookies? Malteser muffins? Bounty biscuits?

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

