Sour Cream Sandwich Loaf

Triffid. Lurking outside the Open University

Triffid. Lurking outside the Open University

This is the my second attempt at this loaf – the first one was a little small and flat, a bit disappointing considering that the phrase in the recipe that sold it to me was:

For those days when all you want is a high-risen loaf with a beautifully soft, tender crumb and a crisp, golden crust.

However, there were a couple of things that I think interfered with my bake that day. I had left it overnight in the fridge after an initial sit in the airing cupboard so I think that it might have over-proved and then the long cold spell in the fridge depressed the dough so much that by the time it came to hit the hot oven, it didn’t really want to bother. The other issue seems to be my equipment. I’m using a loaf tin that’s about 24cm long – this recipe wants one that’s 19cm long 😦 So, it might not really have been flat, just more widely spread than it should have been.

Anyway, today I’m at home and can dough-sit to my heart’s content, as long as I keep working on my thesis as I do so. (Have I mentioned just how much I bloody love having time at home to study? Honestly, if I could just work at home on things that interested me, and bake a bit while I did it, I’d be so, so happy. Better not dwell on that idea, I’ll get sad!)

Here’s a scaled up version for the 3lb tin, and the final illustrative photos! Yep, I think we can conclude that worked.

Sour Cream Sandwich Loaf

A much healthier rise

A much healthier rise

Makes one large loaf. Recipe adapted from this one.

Ingredients

  • 175g cold sour cream
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp caster sugar
  • 1 sachet fast-action yeast
  • 650g strong white flour
  • 100g Woodhouse flour (yes, yes, I ran out of white flour)
  • Oil, for kneading

Method

  1. In a large bowl, mix the cream with 200ml cold water and 200ml boiling water, add the salt, sugar and yeast, then mix in the flour until it forms a rough ball. Cover and leave to sit for 10 minutes.
  2. Lightly oil a patch of worktop and gently knead the dough on it for 10 seconds. Return the dough to the bowl, leave it to sit for another 10 minutes, repeat the quick knead two more times at 10-minute intervals, then leave for an hour.
  3. Butter the base and sides of a large, deep, 19cm-long loaf tin or similar and line the base with nonstick baking paper. Pat out the dough to about 2cm thick, roll it up tightly like a scroll and squish it seam-edge down into the tin. Leave to rise for 60-90 minutes, dust the top with flour and bake at 200C (180C fan-assisted)/390F/gas mark 6 for about 45 minutes.
Professional bread-bag ahoy

Professional bread-bag ahoy

Freshly sliced

Freshly sliced

Sliced quite neatly as well. *proud*

Sliced quite neatly as well. *proud*

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

