Jammy Sable Biscuits

Just loved the colours...

Just loved the colours…

This post comes to you from an unusual perspective: this is a proper, happy Stephanie post. Usually, I’m baking and blogging because I’m stressed or worried but today, it’s a much happier occasion! As you may remember, I recently finished a great big piece of work, the literature review for my thesis. Well, I met my supervisors on Thursday to talk about it, and I’ve had some lovely feedback on my literature review – there’s a lot of work to do before it’s finished but I’m on the right lines. Just knowing that is enough to make me grin for a week: working part-time, on my own, on a topic that is still obscure means that most of the time I really do have very little idea whether I’m going in the right direction. Today I’m in the best of all places, thesis wise – I know the last bit was ok and how to make it good so I can put it to one side and move on, and I know what to do for the next piece of work. That’s going to be the introduction to my first phase of research and no doubt, I’ll be writing about that with the next recipe!

So, these were happy biscuits. I made the biscuit part very early on Friday morning and filled them when I got home from work: I’m trying to do that when possible so Friday evenings aren’t so fraught, and anyway, they needed time to cool.

I did have a nasty moment when I went to get the icing sugar out only to realise that there was nowhere near 100g left in the box! Curse those lovely muffins and their bucket of icing. There was actually only 32g so I made the rest up with caster sugar. I did think it might go horribly wrong, but as you’ll see, they were fine. The original recipe at the link below has the correct version!

Sinister biscuit cutters

Sinister biscuit cutters

Jammy Sable Biscuits (original recipe here)
Makes 20

Ingredients

  • 250g/9oz plain flour
  • 200g/7oz butter, cut into small cubes
  • 30g/1oz icing sugar
  • 70g/2oz caster sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 free-range egg yolks
  • 4 tbsp raspberry jam
  • 4 tbsp apricot jam

Preparation method

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C/325F/Gas 3.
  2. Place the flour, butter, icing sugar and salt into a bowl. Using your fingertips, rub the ingredients together until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  3. Add the egg yolks and mix until a dough forms. Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface and roll out to a thickness of about 0.5cm/¼in. Cut out shapes using a 4cm/1½in cutter.
  4. Divide the sables in half. Using a 2cm/1in fluted cutter, make a hole in the middle of half of the sable biscuits and discard the dough. Place all the sables on a baking tray.
  5. Bake the sables for 10-12 minutes, or until light golden-brown and crisp. Remove and transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  6. Using a teaspoon, place a small dollop of raspberry jam on a whole sable. Place a sable (with a hole) over the whole sable biscuit.
Cooling

Cooling

Tinful

Tinful

Audience appreciation!

Audience appreciation!

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

