Wicked Chocolate Biscuits

Bat!

Bat!

OK, I confess, these aren’t all that wicked. They’re really rather nice. But they’re very dark and a little bit spooky with their staring, silver eyes.

Depending on how I get on next week, there may be more imaginative halloween bakes but I have a feeling I might be a little busy! Completely out of the blue a couple of weeks ago, I had a lovely email from writer putting together a piece for Newsweek (yes, that one!) about horror films and the uncanny valley. I spent a happy Sunday answering some very interesting questions, resisting the temptation to go and re-watch The Ring while I was at it. After I’d merrily sent my answers on their way, I thought to check whether I should be talking to someone at the OU first – oops – and was introduced to the media relations contact for psychology. We met up last week and I had a lovely half an hour rattling on about my project – this blog was mentioned so if you’re reading as a result of that, hello! Anyway, the upshot is that there’s going to be a press release (!) soon about my work!! Very exciting, very scary, lots of fun.

I tracked down this recipe after seeing an item in the latest Sainsbury’s magazine – they wanted readers to choose which of two recipes they’d post on their blog, this one or a delicious looking vegetable chilli. Reluctant to wait, I went a-googling, and tracked it down. Sorry, Sainsbury’s magazine.

Chocolate Sablé Biscuits

A small flock

A small flock

Makes 12 bats! (Original recipe here – I’ve amended the instructions quite a bit though, being too lazy to get the processor out or to freeze the dough)

Ingredients

  • 200g Plain Flour
  • 30g Cocoa Powder
  • 80g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 125g Butter, cubed & at room temperature
  • Silver balls for decoration

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180c/Gas Mark 4.
  2. Put the flour, cocoa, sugar & butter into a bowl and microwave until all well melted.
  3. Stir until it comes together in a sandy-textured mass.
  4. Place on a large sheet of clingfilm, flatten out, cover with more cling film and roll out. The dough will come together under the pressure of the rolling pin. It’s quite magical.
  5. Cut into bat shapes using a Halloween cutter.
  6. Press silver balls into the dough to make eerie eyes.
  7. Place the dough onto trays lined with sheets of baking paper and bake for 10-12 minutes.
  8. They don’t spread while they bake, so you can cram them onto the baking sheet.
  9. Remove from the oven & allow to cool for 15 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

