Cinnamon Passover Balls

Fallen tree at the Open University

Fallen tree at the Open University

I should admit, I don’t know much about Passover. There’s a murky memory from RE lessons at school about angels marking the houses of the firstborn and lots of half-remembered things about special food only ever eaten at this time of year. I didn’t bake these out of any sense of religious or spiritual or even seasonal appropriateness – just that Lisa mentioned them on Facebook and they sounded absolutely delicious, very straightforward and oh, I happened to have all the ingredients on hand.

I’ve tweaked the instructions slightly because I found the original a touch vague!

Cinnamon Passover Balls

Shown in my new beautiful cherry blossom bowl!

Shown in my new beautiful cherry blossom bowl!

Original recipe here. Made 20 for me, original recipe suggests 24.

Ingredients

  • 115g caster sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 230g ground almonds
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp icing sugar + ½ tsp cinnamon in a Ziplock bag

Method

  1. Sieve the caster sugar, almonds and cinnamon together into a bowl.
  2. Beat the egg whites until they become stiff and then fold them into the dry ingredients a bit at a time.
  3. Leave the mixture to set for a few minutes, and then roll into about 20-24 balls.
  4. Place the balls on a lined/greased baking sheet and bake for 18-24 mins at 175C (fan oven).
  5. The balls will be soft when you get them out of the oven, but they will harden up!!
  6. To finish, place the still warm balls into the bag of sifted icing sugar and shake to coat them, then place on a wire rack to cool.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cinnamon Passover Balls

  1. Angela says:

    These were delicious! Will definitely be making some myself 🙂

Leave a comment