Turning Season Cookies

Bright splashes on a misty day

Bright splashes on a misty day

I had a long, long walk today. Partly my fault, I’d stupidly left my purse at home and had to go back and get it, but I also wanted to revisit some of places I went the last time I posted here and see how they looked in the autumn. We’re well beyond half-past September and I’m surprised by how green everything still is: barely any blaze of autumnal colour yet, just the odd splash of crimson here and there. I walked and listened to the sort of music I probably should have grown out of years ago and planned what I was going to bake and thought. It was a very, very good day.

Good also because after a couple of long, frustrating months going back over some sections of my thesis, I’ve turned a corner and I’m finding some really interesting results šŸ˜€ I’m genuinely excited every time I sit down to work at the moment and that’s quite wonderful.

Two bakes happened this afternoon – these cookies, and some rather lovely brownies that I’ll write about in a separate post. I’d wanted to make something cinnamon-y and warming, and when I saw that Sainsbury’s are doing some dried sultanas and apple pieces already infused with the spice, I knew I was on to a winner. These are very soft, gooey cookies – not a crunch to be found. But they’re quite lovely. And perfect for a misty autumn afternoon.

Turning Season Cookies (original recipe here)

IMG_3500

Board full of biscuits, unimpressed cat in distance

Makes 7 large cookies

Ingredients

Method

  1. Heat oven to 180 C / 160 C (fan assisted) / gas 4. Grease a large baking sheet
  2. In a large bowl, mix the butter and sugar together until soft.
  3. Add the egg and cinnamon powder and mix well
  4. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, Graze porridge portion, spicy sultanas and apple pieces,Ā and raisins and mix together before adding to the butter mixture. Stir in the honey from the Graze portion too šŸ™‚
  5. Drop heaped dessertspoonfuls of the cookie dough onto the baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden
  6. Remove them from the oven, they should be golden but will still seem a tiny bit soft to the touch. Leave them on the tray for a minute (this lets them settle slightly) before transferring them to a cooling tray to completely cool. Store in an air tight container.
'They look rather tasty, human!'

‘They look rather tasty, human!’

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

